At Last! The 2012 Labor Day Holiday Weekend has finally begun! For many here in Arizona it will be time to celebrate with family and friends and enjoy picnics, barbecues & pool parties paired up with a few refreshing cocktails. Unfortunately, a great, relaxing weekend can turn into a huge nightmare if you drive under the influence.
The state of Arizona defines driving under the influence, or DUI, as driving or operating a vehicle while mentally or physically impaired by any drug, alcohol or vapor releasing substance.
Here’s a brief overview of what could happen if you get ticketed with a DUI.
DUI = In Arizona a conviction of a DUI would mean you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above a .080.
Jail Time - Ranges from 10 to 180 days in jail
Fines & Costs – Approximately $1,800.00, plus jail costs. The more jail time that is imposed, the greater the cost
License – Usually with in 15 days of charges being placed the MVD will place a suspension on your drivers’ license for 90 days . You may be eligible for a work/school permit after the first 30 days of the suspension.
Counseling – You must get a substance abuse evaluation and comply with any recommendation or you’ll be subject to additional jail time.
Probation – You may be placed on probation for up to five years.
Community Service – The court may order you to perform community service in addition to any other penalties imposed.
Ignition Interlock Device – Required for 12 consecutive months (may be eligible for a 6-month deferment if qualified by the MVD).
You can read more about Arizona DUI Penalties and much more at Driver Advisors.
Per Arizona law, a driver convicted of a DUI is required to operate a vehicle with an ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer with computer logic and memory that interconnects with the ignition and other vehicle control systems. The ignition interlock device measures the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the intended driver, and prevents the motor vehicle from being started if the BAC exceeds a specific limit which is set by the state.
When you are ready to drive the vehicle, you will have to blow into a handheld alcohol sensor unit which is usually located on or near the vehicle’s dashboard.The ignition interlock will ask for random breath tests while the vehicle is running. Typically these tests occur at random times after the car has started.
If your BAC is over the preset limit, either when trying to start the car or during one of the rolling tests, this report can be downloaded and provided to law enforcement or the court. The reports will also note if the device has been tampered with.
In Arizona, if you acquire two start-up test violations, one rolling-retest failure, or the device detects tampering, you must immediately have the interlock device serviced, or it will lock-out the car from further operation. Any violation can cause an extension of your interlock term and affect the status of your driving license.
To learn more about ignition interlock devices and what is required in AZ visit Driver Advisors’ ingnition interlock support page.
A 20-year-old man suspected of driving under the influence rear-ended a police vehicle in Phoenix early Monday morning, according to police. The officer was stopped in the left-turn lane of Camelback Road near 11th Avenue about 2:30 a.m. Monday, when a driver struck the car from behind.
Driving under the influence of any drug or alcohol is a very serious crime in Arizona. The state of Arizona defines driving under the influence, or DUI, as driving or operating a vehicle while mentally or physically impaired by any drug, alcohol or vapor releasing substance.
This includes driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, of 0.08% for a personal vehicle and 0.04% for vehicles requiring a commercial driver license. This can also include driving while inhibited by medications, even if it has been prescribed by your doctor.
There are several classifications of DUI’s in Arizona. Depending on the facts of the case, the case may be brought forward as a felony or as a misdemeanor. To learn more about the various DUI and related vehicular charges in AZ visit Driver Advisors’ AZ DUI Laws page.
Fourth of July weekend is a great time to celebrate with friends, fireworks, hot dogs and more often than not, alcohol. With DUI numbers on the rise, Dan Rhodes from Driver Advisors, provides some helpful tips to make sure you and your loved ones can have an enjoyable and safe holiday weekend.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there’s an alcohol-impaired death somewhere in the U.S. every 51 minutes. This statistic jumps dramatically during holiday weekends.
“Holiday gatherings that involve alcohol can become very dangerous when driving is involved,” explains Rhodes. “Nearly 550 drunken drivers were taken into custody on Memorial Day weekend alone. If you plan to drink this weekend, make arrangements to avoid driving. Impaired driving puts everyone at risk.”
Below are some more helpful tips on how to avoid drinking and driving:
• Encourage party hosts to offer non-alcoholic beverages for those who will be driving.
• You should also have the numbers of local cab companies handy.
• Be prepared to take a guest’s car keys if he or she has had anything to drink.
• Make sure you have a designated driver.
• Whether you’re the designated driver or a passenger, be sure to buckle up. Not only is it the law, it’s the best thing you can do to protect yourself should you be involved in a crash.
“Not only do you want to keep yourself and others safe, you also don’t want to get slapped with a DUI conviction,” reminds Rhodes. “A DUI conviction can cost more than $7,500 in fines, penalties, restitution, ignition interlock fees, legal fees and increased insurance costs – definitely not worth it.”
Mohave County Sheriff's Office arrested a man Monday morning on suspicion of super extreme DUI after officials said he had a blood-alcohol content of .328 percent.
Around 4 a.m. Monday, officials stopped Scott Jarc, 52, of Topock, after they observed him speeding on County Route 1 near Milepost 1, said Trish Carter, a Mohave County Sheriff's Office spokeswoman.
When deputies approached Jarc's car, they say they smelled alcohol. Police say Jarc admitted drinking alcohol earlier.
Jarc was arrested and taken to the Mohave County District II Substation where an analysis revealed his blood-alcohol concentration was .328 percent, officials said.
The man was charged with DUI, DUI with a blood-alcohol concentration over .08 percent, extreme DUI with a blood-alcohol concentration over .15 percent, and super extreme DUI with a blood-alcohol concentration over .20 percent.
He was booked into a county jail, Carter said.
(Source: AZ Central)
Justin Blackmon has not even played a game in the NFL yet, but he's already making headlines for all the wrong reasons -- he was arrested this morning for aggravated DUI ... TMZ has learned.
Blackmon, who played his college ball at Oklahoma State, was arrested in nearby Stillwater by the Payne County Sheriff. According to Oklahoma law, aggravated DUI applies to drivers with a .15 or higher blood alcohol level.
This would not be Blackmon's first DUI arrest. He was arrested in Texas in 2010 and suspended one game by his coach.
Blackmon was the number 5 pick in the 2012 NFL Draft, which took place on April 26.